Fewer things

Two years ago, I started pruning my possessions while processing the clutter around my apartment.

Last year, I deleted my Facebook account.

In December, I saw Tron and Sam Flynn’s shipping container home. Was this possible? The internet told me: yes. I found sites dedicated to shipping container homes, simple living, and minimalism. That’s when I really started getting rid of things:

  • A sombrero chip and dip platter I’d never used.
  • A S’Mores maker I’d never used.
  • Shampoo. I use soap instead.
  • A wine rack. I never have more than one bottle at a time.
  • Three old backpacks.
  • A pair of rollerblades.
  • Many books. I donated and recycled these.
  • CD cases. I liked the art and design of some of the booklets, so I kept those.
  • A futon.
  • Clothing. A lot of this, I hadn’t worn in over a year.
  • Chest of drawers. (I’d gotten rid of so much clothing, I needed three fewer drawers.)
  • Two bookshelves and a TV stand. I replaced these with an Expedit. I’d gotten rid of so many books that this was a better fit. The Expedit was perfect: book storage, places for my consoles, TV, board games, and even a drawer unit in one of the squares. It’s the only visible storage in my apartment.
  • Two bins worth of “stuff”: baseball cards, old certificates, posters, trophies (junk, basically).
  • Two storage bins.
  • Two shelving units.
  • My 1 bedroom apartment. I moved into a bachelor apartment, because after getting rid of all this stuff, I needed much less space.

Very few of these were thrown in the garbage. I was able to donate, sell, or give away much of it. I’m still far from living out of a shipping container, but much closer than before. I’m going to start trying to get rid of one more thing each day, because there’s still a lot of excess. There’s only a small marginal cost to each item, but together, they make for a more costly and distracting experience that takes more time, attention, and space to maintain.

Fewer things

3 thoughts on “Fewer things

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check
    things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page again.

Leave a Reply

